takeactionbuttons

2014 State Activity

Tennessee was the 26th State to Introduce the Healthy Workplace Bill
and in 2014 was the first state to enact a bullying-related law


On June 3, 2014 Gov. Haslam ceremoniously signed the bill into state law!

  • The Conference Committee Report on House Bill No. 1981 / Senate Bill No. 2226 was approved and the bill was sent to Gov. Haslam to become law.
  • Said Gary Namie, "We praise passage of Rep. Parkinson's bill, making Tennessee the first state to acknowledge the dangers of abusive mistreatment of public employees -- state agencies to municipalities -- by taking the policy-driven approach adopted by a growing list of local ordinances throughout the country. During his consultations with us, he proved to be a true champion for working people." Rep. Parkinson is pictured on the left.
  • Features of the law: Abusive conduct is defined as repeated verbal abuse, threats, intimidation, humiliation or work sabotage. Public sector agencies (all branches of state, county, metropolitan and municipal governments) are given an incentive to adopt the model policy to prevent abusive conduct in the workplace, which will be created before March 1, 2015 by TACIR, the Tennessee advisory commission on intergovernmental relations. Alternately, government employers may create their own policy if it (1) assists employers in recognizing and responding to abusive conduct, and (2) prevents retaliation against any reporting employee.
  • HB 1981 was introduced on Jan. 27, 2014 by Rep. Antonio "2 Shay" Parkinson. It is titled the "Healthy Workplace Bill"
  • SB 2226 was introduced by Sen. Jim Kyle on Jan. 27, 2014. The Senate bill is a companion bill to HB 1981 with identical wording.
  • The first bills ever to be introduced in Tennessee made the state the 26th state to introduce our Healthy Workplace Bill.



House Bill Sponsor, HB 1981

Name Phone E-mail Website
Rep. Antonio "2 Shay" Parkinson (D-98)   (615) 741-4575 rep.antonio.parkinson@capitol.tn.gov Here

House Local Government Subcommittee

Name Phone E-mail Website
Rep. Joe Carr, Chair (R-48)   (615) 741-2180 rep.joe.carr@capitol.tn.gov Here
Rep. Dale Carr (R-12)   (615) 741-5981 rep.dale.carr@capitol.tn.gov Here
Rep. Jeremy Durham (R-65)   (615) 741-1864 rep.jeremy.durham@capitol.tn.gov Here
Rep. Richard Floyd (R-27)   (615) 741-2746 rep.richard.floyd@capitol.tn.gov Here
Rep. Steve Hall (R-18)   (615) 741-2287 rep.steve.hall@capitol.tn.gov Here
Rep. Matthew Hill (R-7)   (615) 741-2251 rep.matthew.hill@capitol.tn.gov Here
Rep. Larry J. Miller (D-88)   (615) 741-4453 rep.larry.miller@capitol.tn.gov Here
Rep. Antonio "2 Shay" Parkinson (D-98) -- Bill Sponsor   (615) 741-4575 rep.antonio.parkinson@capitol.tn.gov Here



Senate Bill Sponsor, SB 2226

Name Phone E-mail Website
Sen. Jim Kyle (D-30)   (615) 741-4167 sen.jim.kyle@capitol.tn.gov Here

Senate Commerce and Labor Committee

Name Phone E-mail Website
Sen. Jack Johnson, Chair (R-23)   (615) 741-2495 sen.jack.johnson@capitol.tn.gov Here
Sen. Mark Green, 1st Vice-Chair (R-22)   (615) 741-2374 sen.mark.green@capitol.tn.gov Here
Sen. Charlotte Burks, 2nd Vice-Chair (D-15)   (615) 741-3978 sen.charlotte.burks@capitol.tn.gov Here
Sen. Dolores R. Gresham (R-26)   (615) 741-2368 sen.dolores.gresham@capitol.tn.gov Here
Sen. Steve Southerland (R-1)   (615) 741-3851 sen.steve.southerland@capitol.tn.gov Here
Sen. Reginald Tate (D-33)   (615) 741-2509 sen.reginald.tate@capitol.tn.gov Here
Sen. Jim Tracy (R-14)   (615) 741-1066 sen.jim.tracy@capitol.tn.gov Here
Sen. Bo Watson (R-11)   (615) 741-3227 sen.bo.watson@capitol.tn.gov Here
Sen. Ken Yager (R-12)   (615) 741-1449 sen.ken.yager@capitol.tn.gov Here

Bill History

2014

HB 1981 became law on June 3, 2014. See provisions of the law described above.

2014

HB 1981 and its companion bill SB 2226 were introduced in January 2014.




Volunteer as a Citizen Lobbyist

Interested in working for enactment of the Healthy Workplace Bill in Tennessee?

Fill out the following form and we'll put you in contact with the State Coordinator.



*Note: Coordinators cannot give advice and are not equipped to help those currently bullied at work. Visit WBI to find resources for bullied targets.


How many cats do you see below?

Type a number: