takeactionbuttons

2013-14 Legislative Activity

Massachusetts was the 6th state to introduce the Healthy Workplace Bill


Use our E-Z mailer tool to contact sponsoring lawmakers!
Click the tool button




  • The bill was put on the House calendar for a second reading on April 7, 2014. This is the next step -- the House floor vote. As of April 9, it was item number 401 to be considered. You can track its position here. The Speaker of the House, Rep. Robert A. DeLeo (D-Winthrop), determines which bills are read and which are ignored. His e-mail is Robert.DeLeo@mahouse.gov and office phone 617-722-2500.
  • HB 1766 passed ("reported favorably out of committee") the Joint Committee on Labor and Workforce Development on March 27, 2014.
  • State Sen. Katherine Clark, the enthusiastic co-sponsor of HB 1766, left the MA State Senate to become a U.S. Congresswoman in a 2013 special election.
  • July 4 editorial in the Melrose (MA) Free Press by sponsor Sen. Katherine Clark.
  • On June 25, 2013 the Joint Committee on Labor and Workforce Development held a public hearing for HB 1766, the Healthy Workplace Bill. Watch this space for results of the hearing. Use the E-Z writer above to urge members of the committee to pass the bill.
  • House bill HB 1766 was introduced on Feb. 13, 2013. The step begins the journey toward making the Healthy Workplace Bill the law in Massachusetts.
  • Prime sponsors are House Rep. Ellen Story and Sen. Katherine Clark.
  • There are 37 other co-sponsors (listed below). All need to be thanked using the EZ letter writer tool above.
  • The bill is assigned to the Joint Committee on Labor and Workforce Development (key officers listed below). Write (also on the EZ writer) to the Committee Chairs listed below asking for a public hearing for HB 1766. When a public hearing is scheduled, notice will appear here.
  • Read the text of the bill here.
  • Volunteer to help our State Coordinators work the bill through committee hearings to floor votes to the Governor's desk. Use the form below. Your information is sent directly to them.
  • Visit the website for the MA Healthy Workplace Advocates.

HB 1766 Sponsors

House Sponsors

Name District Phone E-mail Website
Rep. Ellen Story (Prime Sponsor)   D-3rd Hampshire 617-722-2012 Ellen.Story@mahouse.gov Here
Rep. Brian M. Ashe    D-2nd Hampden 617-722-2090 Brian.Ashe@mahouse.gov Here
Rep. Cheryl A. Coakley-Rivera   D-10th Hampden 617-722-2014 Cheryl.Coakley-Rivera@mahouse.gov Here
Rep. Diana DiZoglio   D-14th Essex 617-722-2425 Diana.DiZoglio@mahouse.gov Here
Rep. Patricia A. Haddad    D-5th Bristol 617-722-2600 Patricia.Haddad@mahouse.gov Here
Rep. Carlos Henriquez   D-5th Suffolk 617-722-2396 Carlos.Henriquez@mahouse.gov Here
Rep. Peter V. Kocot   D-1st Hampshire 617-722-2140 Peter.Kocot@mahouse.gov Here
Rep. Louis L. Kafka   D-8th Norfolk 617-722-2960 Louis.Kafka@mahouse.gov Here
Rep. Kay Khan   D-11th Middlesex 617-722-2011 Kay.Khan@mahouse.gov Here
Rep. John J. Lawn   D-10th Middlesex 617-722-2400 John.Lawn@mahouse.gov Here
Rep. Russell E. Holmes   D-6th Suffolk 617-722-2220 Russell.Holmes@mahouse.gov Here
Rep. Kevin G. Honan   D-17th Suffolk 617-722-2470 Kevin.Honan@mahouse.gov Here
Rep. John J. Mahoney   D-13th Worcester 617-722-2400 John.Mahoney@mahouse.gov Here
Rep. Paul McMurtry   D-11th Norfolk 617-722-2015 Paul.McMurtry@mahouse.gov Here
Rep. James J. O'Day   D-14th Worcester 617-722-2230 James.O'Day@mahouse.gov Here
Rep. Denise Provost   D-27th Middlesex 617-722-2263 Denise.Provost@mahouse.gov Here
Rep. Denise Andrews   D-2nd Franklin 617-722-2425 denise.andrews@mahouse.gov Here
Rep. Theodore C. Speliotis   D-13th Essex 617-722-2410 Theodore.Speliotis@mahouse.gov Here
Rep. Benjamin Swan   D-11th Hampden 617-722-2680 Benjamin.Swan@mahouse.gov Here
Rep. John W. Scibak   D-2nd Hampshire 617-722-2240 John.Scibak@mahouse.gov Here
Rep. Ruth Balser   D-12th Middlesex 617-722-2396 Ruth.Balser@mahouse.gov Here
Rep. Paul Brodeur   D-32nd Middlesex 617-722-2400 Paul.Brodeur@mahouse.gov Here
Rep. Christine Canavan   D-10th Plymouth 508-588-3566 Christine.Canavan@mahouse.gov Here
Rep. Gailanne Cariddi   D-1st Berkshire 617-722-2130 Gailanne.Cariddi@mahouse.gov Here
Rep. John Fresolo   D-16th Worcester 508-799-9386 John.Fresolo@mahouse.gov Here
Rep. Danielle Gregoire   D-4th Middlesex 617-722-2425 Danielle.Gregoire@mahouse.gov Here
Rep. Jonathan Hecht   D-29th Middlesex 617-722-2140 Jonathan.Hecht@mahouse.gov Here
Rep. Brian Mannal   D-2nd Barnstable 617-722-2425 Brian.Mannal@mahouse.gov Here
Rep. Carl Sciortino, Jr.   D-34th Middlesex 617-722-2013 Carl.Sciortino@mahouse.gov Here
Rep. Frank I. Smizik   D-15h Norfolk 617-722-2676 Frank.Smizik@mahouse.gov Here
Rep. Aaron Vega   D-5th Hampden 617-722-2425 Aaron.Vega@mahouse.gov Here

Senate Sponsors

Name District Phone E-mail Website
Senator Katherine Clark, Prime Sponsor (D) Resigned U.S. Congresswoman, after 2013 election
Senator James Welch (D)   D-Hampden 413-737-7756 James.Welch@masenate.gov Here
Senator James Eldridge (D)   D-Middlesex and Worcester 413-737-7756 James.Eldridge@masenate.gov Here
Senator Jennifer Flanagan (D)   D-Worcester and Middlesex 978-534-3388 Jennifer.Flanagan@masenate.gov Here
Senator Sonia Chang-Diaz (D)   D-2nd Suffolk 617-722-1673 Sonia.Chang-Diaz@masenate.gov Here
Senator John Keenan (D)   D-Norfolk and Plymouth 617-722-1494 John.Keenan@masenate.gov Here
Senator Thomas M. McGee (D)   D-3rd Essex 617-722-1350 Thomas.McGee@masenate.gov Here
Senator Michael Knapik (R)   R-2nd Hampden and Hampshire 413-562-6454 Michael.Knapik@masenate.gov Here

Committee Chairs, Joint Committee on Labor and Workforce Development

Name District Phone E-mail Website
Rep. Thomas P. Conroy (House Chair)   D-13th Middlesex 617-722-2430 Thomas.Conroy@mahouse.gov Here
Rep. Lori A. Ehrlich (House Vice Chair)   D-8th Essex 617-722-2014 Lori.Ehrlich@mahouse.gov Here
Senator Daniel A. Wolf (Senate Chair)   D-Cape and Islands 617-722-1570 Daniel.Wolf@masenate.gov Here
Senator Michael Barrett (Senate Vice Chair)   D-3rd Middlesex 617-722-1572 Mike.Barrett@masenate.gov Here

Endorsements

The following organizations have voiced their support for the current workplace bullying legislation.


Pre-2013 Activity

Boston TV WWLP-22 coverage of the
Massachusetts Healthy Workplace Advocates Freedom Week Seminar Oct. 19, 2012




  • In Boston MAHWA held a Freedom Week event on October 19, 2012 entitled "Workplace Bullying: Who are the Aggressors and What Can We Do About Them?"

    The featured speaker was Dr. Ronald Schouten, director of the Law & Psychiatry Service at Mass. General Hospital and author of Almost a Psychopath. which includes a very good chapter on workplaces that mentions WBI's studies. Greg Sorozan will also participate in a panel discussion as one of four distinguished panelists. Suffolk Law Professor David Yamada moderated.

  • Greg Sorozan, one of the MA State Coordinators, spoke at the National Press Club on Oct. 15, 2012 as part of a major press conference to commemorate WBI Freedom From Workplace Bullies Week. He discusses the growing strength of the MA Healthy Workplace Advocates.

  • If you live in Massachusetts, please contact and join the
  • MassCOSH just officially signed on to endorse the Healthy Workplace Bill in Massachusetts.
  • Video project by the Massachusetts Healthy Workplace Advocates telling why MA residents need and deserve the HWB to become law.
  • Suffolk Law Prof. David Yamada, author of the Healthy Workplace Bill (in MA and every state)


    MA State Co-Coordinator Greg Sorozan, NAGE/SEIU


    July 14, 2011 Committee hearing TV coverage: Deb Calidieri, bullied teacher, Greg Sorozan, MA State Coordinator, & Rep. Coakley-Rivera interviewed



    July 14, 2011 Committee hearing, left to right, Crystal Novich, Greg Sorozan, & Suffolk Law Prof. David Yamada




    Bill History

    2013-2014

    Rep. Ellen Story introduced HB 1766 on Feb. 13, 2013.

    2011-2012

    Rep. Ellen Story introduced HB 2310, & Senator Katherine Clark introduced the sister-bill S 916. Neither bill received a floor vote after a very successful public hearing.

    2009-10

    Sen. Joan Menard (did not seek re-election) sponsored SB 699. The Joint Committee on Labor and Workforce Development held a public hearing on Wednesday January 27, 2010. No vote or subsequent action was taken.

    2009

    In 2009, Rep. Story is re-filing her call for a study, but the complete version of the Healthy Workplace Bill has been sponsored by Senator Joan Menard. This will be the third attempt in the state to address bullying through legislation.

    2008

    Representative Ellen Story re-filed the Petition as H 1850

    2007

    Representative Ellen Story re-filed the Petition as H 1850

    2005

    In response to the 2004 public policy question Representative Ellen Story introduced Petition H 3809 calling for the state to study and develop a mandated program for employers to combat bullying. No action was taken.

    2004

    The 3rd District (Hampshire), a public policy question appeared on the ballot through the efforts of a single, bullied individual. The question asked if legislation to address workplace bullying should be crafted. The affirmative responses won a majority (68%) of the vote.

    Volunteer as a Citizen Lobbyist

    Interested in working for enactment of the Healthy Workplace Bill in Massachusetts?

    Fill out the following form and we'll put you in contact with the State Coordinator.



    *Note: Coordinators cannot give advice and are not equipped to help those currently bullied at work. Visit WBI to find resources for bullied targets.


    How many cats do you see below?

    Type a number: